No. 2 - Canon Perpetuus -


Aluminum, photographic lenses 

4.2m x 2.6m x 2.4m

Setagaya Art Museum, Tokyo / Japan,  

Seibu Gakuen Bunri, Saitama / Japan

The sculpture consists of 212 parts connected with about 1000 bolts to a single continuous membrane, in which the inside and outside is twice reversed. Despite the complex appearance, the sculpture consists of only 3 different modular elements. Part of the sculpture remains fragmentary, revealing the inner layers. All proportions, up to the size of every single bold, follow a system based on fractional harmonics and rhythmical repetition. “Canon Perpetuus” is the title of a section from J.S. Bach’s ‘Musical Offering’, a composition based heavily on the continuous repetition of several layered modular themes. The work was awarded the Kajima Art Prize for Sculpture in 1998.

この彫刻は、212のパーツが約1000本のボルトでつながれ、内と外が2度反転した1枚の連続した膜で構成されている。複雑な外見とは裏腹に、この彫刻はたった3種類のモジュール要素だけで成り立っている。また彫刻の一部は断片的なまま残っており、内部の層が顕にされている。ボルトの一本に至るまで、すべてのプロポーションは、分数のハーモニクスとリズムの繰り返しに基づくシステムに従っている。「Canon Perpetuus」は、J.S.バッハの「Musikalischem Opfer 」(音楽の捧げもの)の一節のタイトルで、幾層ものモジュール化された主旋律の連続的な繰り返しに大きく基づいた作曲である。この作品は、1998年に鹿島美術賞(彫刻部門)を受賞した。

© A.F Claar 2024

All rights reserved